A couple months ago, I was rinsing out my coffee pot first thing in the morning when I noticed a man unloading a black leather couch onto my sidewalk.  Because it was 7am and I was both sleepy and confounded by what I was seeing, I did the cartoon blinky thing trying to figure out if this was real or not.  It was, and this stranger was deliberately unloading a piece of furniture specifically onto my sidewalk instead of any other available piece of concrete– or the dump.  I found this annoying, and unsightly, but before I could go outside and demand why he was leaving it there, he was gone.

I went to work, and when I came back, I found that someone had torn the couch apart taking out the metal springs and who knows what else.  They had also left a chrome shelf, for some reason.  I was going to write a blog about this and include some pictures, but by the time I remembered to grab my camera and go outside, the whole mess was gone as mysteriously as it came.

This morning there is a new couch (and loveseat!) on my sidewalk.

I wasn’t awake to see it being dropped off, but it certainly wasn’t there when I went to bed last night, or when I got up at 3am.

misc-163This one either came torn apart, or someone went to town on it while I was still in bed, either way, it is unsightly and does not belong on my sidewalk.

The worst part of this whole situation is that I just don’t know why.  Why leave couches on my sidewalk?  Why take the time to load it up in your truck, and then bring it to my place?  Why do these couches keep vanishing, when the boxes I put out for the garbage man didn’t get picked up and are now blowing around the neighborhood?

I guess it’s kind of an adventure: What’s going to be there when I get up in the morning??? But I just don’t know if it’s worth it if I can’t get any answers.

