I kept my accounts with my bank in Fargo when I moved.  I did actually open accounts at a local bank, but I don’t particularly like them (and the interest rate on my savings here is a joke– seriously, when I asked the guy at the bank what my rate would be, he laughed), so I maintain a balance but never really use them.  This means that everything has to go through the mail, which means that I have to buy stamps (hate buying stamps), and it takes forever.

It is imperfect, but rarely an issue because I have direct deposit.  On Tuesday, I finally got my financial overage check AND my first paycheck from the university.  These were paper checks because I didn’t have direct deposit set up in time, but of course, I was still thrilled to get them and did a small dance of joy around my apartment.  Wednesday morning, on my walk to work, I dropped these two items into the mail and eagerly waited for the balance on my checking account to grow.  Unfortunately, I’m still waiting.

When Jewish Friend got her check a few days before mine, she immediately called me and said “I need to buy something to celebrate this money– can you think of anything that I need to buy?”  My needs are simpler, and a lot lamer– all I want in the world is to pay off my Amex and put the rest in savings.  Maybe if I can find an exceptional rate, I’ll sink some into a CD.  Then I can asses how much money I’m making at new job, and budget accordingly.

That’s all I want.

Now it’s Saturday morning, and even though I know that my bank is in a time zone one hour later than me, I’ve checked my balance about three times, hoping against hope that the money will be there and I can take this lazy morning to do some financial planning.

I was speaking to a professor the other day, whom I haven’t seen all summer, and don’t have a class with this semester, and somehow we got on the topic of money, mortgage crises, the financial state of the university.  I expressed a concern at my job prospects once I graduate because economic downturn is no good for anyone, but it’s particularly bad for librarians.  “Well, if there’s one thing I know your parents taught you, it’s how to manage your money.” she said.

I flushed with pride momentarily, but then I thought maybe this means I talk about this stuff too much.  Wise Lawyer Friend was recently accused of playing mahjong at the library not for the fun of it, or the comradery, but rather, because it is free.  At least I’m not the only one.

