• I’ve saved quite a bit of money on gas (obvious).
  • I’ve gotten a bit of a tan.
  • I feel now that I have more license to eat whatever I want since I’m getting exercise– not that my not getting exercise stopped me before, but I’m sure this has alleviated a bit of guilt that I may or may not have acknowledged.
  • A girl on the street told me that she liked my dress.
  • A rather unkempt man wearing a Harley Davidson shirt spit on the sidewalk in front of me, which grossed me out, but then without my even indicating that I was going that way, hit the walk button on the stoplight for me, then continued on his way.
  • I got hit on by a tall urban youth with nice shoulders.
  • A grizzled old man told me that I’m beautiful.
  • The crossing guard who works in my neighborhood stops traffic for me and allows me to cross safely even though I am clearly not a ten-year-old.
  • Oktoberfest beer is in season again, and this year I stocked up so I won’t run out before the end of September.
  • One of my bosses at my new job told someone else that I am “amazing”, my other boss told me, “we are so happy you’re here.”
  • I’ve been working half days and was told that I’d also better take off Friday, but this will not affect my paycheck in the slightest.
  • Jewish Friend’s car got backed into by an engineering professor, which is not a good thing, but it allowed me to refer her to my mechanic who I love, and love to give business to. She has also acknowledged that he is a wonderful human being, and he remembered me fondly telling her “Andria needs to keep her car cleaner.” I’m still unsure if he means the inside or the outside.
  • Since I’ve been working half days, I was able to have a lovely two-hour lunch with Curly-Haired Religious Scholar Friend and we caught up on all we had missed over the course of the summer.
  • I visited New York City for the first time and had a seriously kick-ass time.
  • With all of this free time I’ve had, I discovered that I too can make a delightful macaroni and cheese from scratch. I will use this knowledge this winter and subsist nearly exclusively on macaroni and cheese and mashed potatoes, and feel more like a grown-up because I’m cooking for real and not from a box.
