A couple weeks ago, I managed to get the least sexy injury ever. It is the least sexy because the story doesn’t start with I was trekking through Nepal, or I was running from enemy agents who wanted to kidnap and torture me in order to learn my secrets, but with I was walking to my reading chair. And the story ends not with, look at this kick-ass scar! but rather, No, the bruise faded, nothing really to see, mostly it’s just a dull ache.

Now I am hyper-aware of my toe, and I’ve managed to stub it 3 more times (once today!), since the incident that broke it. I do not want to be hyper-aware of my toe, I preferred when I didn’t have to think about it at all, but it’s amazing how such a tiny little thing can annoy you so much.

I was talking to a co-worker who had also broken her toe recently, she actually went to the doctor cause hers was a much worse break and she had to wear the broken toe boot.

That would have made it less sexy as well, but probably would have gotten me more attention. I have been wearing the same pair of shoes for almost two weeks now because if I put on anything that covers the toe, it screams in protest. I foolishly put on my running shoes, thinking that since they are 1/2 size too big I would be fine– I was mistaken.

So not only is it an aggravating inconvenience, but it’s a lame injury. I mean, I pride myself on working through anything– I am a trooper, but when you can’t walk normally because the 4th smallest bone in your in your body is broken because you caught it on a chair leg… I mean, come on. I’m so over it.

