* This $4 bottle of pinot noir is not as good as the first time I bought it…

* I’m starting to think it’s inevitable that I will acquire the New England accent no matter how much I fight it…

* I went to the store to buy soup that is on sale and found out that it is not on sale until Friday, why send out the flier so early and trick me?

* I wish I was friends with Henry Rollins…

I have two jobs, neither of which are in the city where I live. I do a lot of driving, is the end of that sentence. A few days ago, I was leaving job #1 and I saw a pack of Canada Geese, at least 20, hanging out by the side of the road. It wasn’t the side of the road that was a field, but rather the space between two busy highways. They were standing there, completely unconcerned. It looked like they were having a tea party.

The following day, I was driving to job #2. It was a rather cold day, but I passed a group of about 5 people gathering in front of a building. They were setting up pictures on easels. I assumed it was an art sale of some kind. When I was close enough to see the pictures, I realized that they were dead babies, some in pools of blood. This was 8:55am.

I grew up in two states that are very pro-hunting. When I was very young, I accepted it as just a thing that adults do, and didn’t really feel one way or the other about it. Growing up, I started to find it to be rather deplorable because no one could give me what I felt was a decent reason of why it was necessary. I thought having deer wander into my backyard was magical.

I was walking to work one day in High School, and I had to walk past a deer head that was lying on the curb in front of someone’s house. I had to walk past it again on the way home. It was there for days.

In high school, one of my best friends was hit by two deer. She hit them, because they ran into her car from the side and then bounced off of her grill. She was uninjured, but had to buy a new car– I can only assume the deer died. Years later, I was with that same friend driving down I-94, when a pick-up in front of us hit a deer. Previously, I ignorantly assumed that hitting a deer caused it to fly into the ditch off of the road. That is not the case, certainly not on a busy interstate. By the time that deer got to our car, it was just a torso. The torso hit the grill spraying the car in blood. We ran it over and I head firsthand that awful “body under the tires” sound, then I imagine the car behind us pulverized it further.

My brother hit a deer, a few years later, and had to drag the still living, but fatally wounded creature into the ditch while it groaned and writhed in agony.

I’ve changed my mind about hunting, but I still don’t think heads should be left on the side of the street in the middle of town.

* Movies are too expensive– full stop

* The more I listen to the news, the more pessimistic I become, but I like being informed

* My boss at job #2 told me that my rate of pay was slightly higher because I have a Master’s degree already– that’s the first time I’ve ever heard that, and I’ve had that degree almost 2 years

* This semester is going to be better than last, but even after saying that, I have no more ambition than I did last week

I’ve been having a lot of nightmares lately. Maybe it’s the stress of starting school, maybe it’s the stress of a personal relationship, maybe it’s the dryness or frustration with the fact that I keep feeling run-down and sick. For whatever reason, I keep waking up exhausted. I dreamt that I had a huge fight with my father and he disowned me. I dreamt that is a post-apocalyptic world I was being hunted by my enemies. I dreamt that an entire room of people was mad at me for something I didn’t do. I dreamt I was fired from both my jobs and called a fraud. Usually my nightmares are that people are angry at me, and I wake up probably crying out in my defense.

I’m in a state of financial fast for the first time in a long time since the bills for my post-christmas shopping are coming in, and my gas bill was exorbitant last month. I have to break the fast today though, to go buy that soup cause it’s just too good a deal to pass up

