You are currently browsing the daily archive for May 24, 2007.

There is very little going on in my life right now (actually that’s not entirely true, but anyway), this is taking up a lot of my mental energy.  Sink in bathroom was draining slowly.   Used Drano max, which has always worked in the past—nothing.  Used Drano max again, clearly this is a job too big for Drano.

 So I slapped on my rubber gloves and got out my bucket fully prepared to fish some unsightly hair clog out of the pipe.  The pipe was pristine and clear.  So I decided to tell landlord about the issue and have a professional look at it—a professional with tools.  This was 2 Fridays ago, Friday the 11th.  By the time I asked the landlord to call the plumber, this problem has been compounding for about a month.

 Plumber comes over, Tuesday, as I’m making my PB&J to take to work, and assesses the problem.  He stops me in the middle of my jelly application to tell me that, “The problem is the sdfhjkhfsk, and I’ll have to cut into the asldfglsdhf down in the garage to get my snake in there.  It’s much more of a job than we initially thought it would be, so I’ll have to discuss it with Rick first.”

  I just blinked at him and said, “okay.”

“So, I’ll probably do it tomorrow or Thursday, when do you work those days?”

 I told him that I work/ have somewhere to be at 1pm both those days.  I almost went into detail, foolishy, about where I had to be that wasn’t work, but I realized that that is none of his business.

 “Cause I’ll probably be over here around this time… (8:30am)”

 “That’s fine.”

 “It’s kind of early…”

 8:30am is not early.  The sun comes up at 6:00 and wakes me up every damn day!  While I appreciate the fact that he must seem to think I’m some kind of “party animal”, or “person who parties all night and sleeps all day when she doesn’t have to get up and work at 9am”, that’s really not the case.  Those of you who know me know that I am not cool.  Those of you who really know me, may also know that I cannot sleep well in the summer because it’s so light out all of the time, and so hot.  Although I rarely use the time spent not sleeping to be productive, I usually sulk around complaining about the heat.  Anyway, getting up early… not really an issue.

 “Seriously, I don’t care, just talk to Rick.”

 “It’s not that bad…”

 By this point, I was getting fucking pissed, but I smiled in what I hoped was a vaguely condescending way and repeated, “Just talk to Rick.”

 By Friday, plumber had not stopped back, but I assumed he would because he almost said he would.  Went to a concert (SLOOOOOOOAN) in Minneapolis with brother and friend LeAnn, and came home in the wee hours to find that plumber had not come back, and now the sink that was “not that bad”, had stopped draining completely.  So LeAnn basically flew in from Denver to see me (and Sloan), and had to wash her hands and brush her teeth in the kitchen.  Not cool.  Maybe if we actually left the apartment, it wouldn’t have been such an inconvenience, but we don’t do that.  Again reinforcing the fact that I am not cool (I don’t know why I’m so emphatic about that today)

Why is plumber so reluctant to do his job? Is it me?  Since my mother told me for years that I should be a plumber, I’ve always felt a bit of a kinship with them.  So, I’m talking this slight very personally.  I wouldn’t want to cut into the hdkfjkgkhk and snake my drain either, which is why I got a Masters of English rather than plumber degree.  I empathize with him, but more than that, I want my sink to drain.

Talked to landlord, who said he would call plumber again.  No plumber.  Called landlord again to see if plumber gave him a date and time when I could expect him.  Landlord said, “he still hasn’t been there?”

Finally, plumber came when I was at work yesterday, in the afternoontime (apparently to let me sleep in), and now my sink drains like a dream.  I’m a little miffed that I wasn’t there because I was really looking forward to his apologizing to me, and me saying “I don’t want excuses, I want results!!” But alas that didn’t happen.

What did happen is that plumber cut into the jasdjfkhkd, and left the pieces lying in my driveway, so I nearly ran over then when I got home last night.  There are about 7 garbage cans right outside of the garage, and he just chucked these pieces of rusted pipe into the driveway.  I’m fairly convinced he did it to hurt me.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 97 other followers